Tiretown Golf Club and Tiretown Golf Charities 5th Annual Scholarship Banquet

Tiretown Golf Club and Tiretown Golf Charities held its 5th annual scholarship banquet on Oct. 28 at the Alpha Center in Akron. The nation’s largest predominantly Black golf club recognized seven Akron-area scholars during its ceremony. 

All of the 2023 high school graduates will attend either Kent State University or the University of Akron. The scholarship recipients are: Sydnee Wade, Firestone CLC; Kyla Carney, Ravenna High School; Jarett Brantley, Buchtel CLC; Darren Collins, East CLC; Kennedy Curry, Copley High School; Ricardo Quintana, Kenmore-Garfield High School and Layla Nelson, Copley High School. 

In addition, Tiretown recognized three Findlay Middle School students – Quamaine Anderson, Marcus Dawson and Jre Palmer. All the students were lauded for outstanding academic achievement, citizenship and perfect attendance. 

Tiretown, founded in 1950, also honored four of its members for outstanding service to the community and the organization’s club and charity. This year’s Henry Mumford Distinguished Service Award winners are Joe D. Patterson, Dr. Robert W. Kamienski, Clarence D. Mitchell Jr., and Larry F. Thomas. 

Ralph N. Paulk


Tiretown Golf Club/Tiretown Golf Charities

P.O. Box 562

Akron, Ohio 44309



This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies.